The Carrington

The Evanston Chamber is proud to recognize its award recipients for their outstanding contributions to their business and community. 

Heather Bublick and D'Andre Carter
Heather Bublick and D’Andre Carter

Businessperson of the Year

Honors an individual who has: actively participated and served as a leader in Evanston Chamber activities; demonstrated how business volunteerism can better the community and the Chamber; exemplified a long-term commitment to his/her business and community; and displayed innovation and/or entrepreneurialism along with business growth.

  • 2021   Heather Bublick and D’Andre Carter, Feast & Imbibe, Soul & Smoke
  • 2020   Sandy Chen, Koi
  • 2019   Jill Kushner-Bishop, Multilingual Connections
  • 2018   Robert Yohanan, First Bank of Evanston
  • 2017   Shaun Chinsky, Good’s of Evanston
Meleika Gardner
Meleika Gardner

Community Leadership Person of the Year

Recognizes an individual who has demonstrated the ability to make Evanston a better place for its people and its institutions through: personal involvement and enthusiasm in a variety of civic and/or service organizations; innovation, commitment, and leadership; inspiring others to become involved; channeling private sector resources; efforts in improving the quality of life in the community; and connecting people and organizations to create community partnerships.

  • 2021   Meleika Gardner, Evanston Live TV
  • 2020   Richard (Dick) Peach
  • 2019   Neil Gambow, Mayor’s Employer Council
  • 2018   Keith Terry
  • 2017   Elizabeth Tisdall, Mayor of Evanston
Monique Jones
Monique Jones
(photo credit Ven Sherrod)

NonProfit/Public Service Person of the Year

Acknowledges an individual who has distinguished himself/herself in the public and/or non-profit sectors by demonstrating innovation, commitment, and leadership; working to advance Evanston and the organization he/she represents; responding to opportunities with creativity and efficiency; and creating awareness for his/her organization and its benefits to the Evanston community.

  • 2021   Monique Jones, Evanston Community Foundation
  • 2020   Steve Newman, Evanston Scholars
  • 2019   Michele Berg, Rotary International
  • 2018   Joanna Pinksy, Art Encounter
  • 2017   Bea Rashid, Evanston Dance Ensemble

See the complete list of Evanston Chamber Award Winners.

Find a Local Business

Upcoming Chamber Events

See more Events »


Welcome New Members!